Ready...set.. match!!! I´m back on track!

Last week I took a very important, and life chaning decision. I contacted my previous tennistrainer. I told him how much I miss tennis and that I want to start play again. Just for fun, some me-time. He called me yesterday and told me that this is just perfect!! He told me that he would make sure that I could get a personaltrainer so that the focus is just on me!! I´m like a rusty bicycle... But if you oil me enough and help me goin, I´m gonna be like new again! So the plan is that, I´m gonna play once a week, 2 hours, with my Personal trainer. And not just with anyone, this dude is one of the best trainers I´ve ever seen!!! Let me tell you a little something about my tennis history :)...

When I was around 7 years old my dad put me in a tennis school. Because I wanted to. I started to play even more and more, the trainers saw that I was pretty good for my age, so they moved me a level higher. I remember my first trainer, Conny. He was death and stum. But he had sooo much heart! We all could actually understand him. He took me to tennis tournaments and I remember how much he supported me.

When I was around 10 I started to play with those who were 2-6 years older than me. I trained 5times a week + tournaments. At this time I started to feel the pressure even more... I was pretty mature for my age. I got in the puberty early and I was picked on for my body. And some if the girls felt the competition from me, so they picked on me even more. It was hard. I felt like an outsider. But I also knew that I was too GOOD to let it get to me. I had my teachers support, even some of the other parents support. They came to me after the training and gave me kind comments about my playing, and specially my serve. My best thing was my serve. I was strong. I served at 100km/hour. My way of playing was to have a good serve, and to have controll of the balls. I could place them wherever I wanted. I was not a fast runner though. But I saw how much potential I had...

When I was 12, I had started to compete even more. I traveled around Sweden, just a few times with the club. Once to Västervik, and once to Båstad. It feels like yesterday.. I remember almost Everything!!! I could write you a book about this, so much to tell you.. But one thing happend in Båstad that changed everything. My first game was against the Swedish number 1 in my agegroup. I lost the game and I was out of the competition. But I was there for a few more weeks to support my team, to train and to just enjoy the famous Tennis Båstad week. After that match, and after those weeks I just felt how much pressure I had, and how much more I´m gonne get, because I wanted to get better. My selfconfidence just burst. And the fact that I still was picked on made it even worse. I started to skip classes, came with lame excuses that my leg was hurt, that I had some study to do, that I was sick. And one day, I decied to talk to my teachers. We had a meeting, I remember it so well. We sat in our "team room" where we sat and waited for our turn to play a match (evert saturday we had a tournament within the team, to develop our gameskills. They sat infront of me. They knew what was coming. I told them that I started to worry about school, the money that my parents pay just to let Me play and so on (excuses, excuses...). They praied for me to stay. They tried Everything to keep me stay. But no, it was too much for me. When I left, I left with my heart in that room.

Ever since that day, tennis has haunted me. I have several times went to the tenniscourt, just to see people play. Just to hear the sound, the smell of the tenniscourt, and one day, for about 2years ago I saw my trainer, teaching a little girl. I knew this was it. I walked  to the office and I saw my other trainer, Anders. When he saw me, he couldn´t believe his eyes. Two years, and there I was. I started to play again, but just for a term. And now, here I am again. 2years later, ready to play again!!

" I dont want to regret anything in my life. And I can honestly say that, if I don´t have tennis in my life, just for 1day/week, I know I will regret it... But everything happens for a reason, and if I didn´t quit tennis, I would Never, NEVER be the person that I am today. A succesfull photographer, a dancer, and this Felicia I am today. So in one way, I am happy that it happend. Yeah, I might not be the next superstar tennisplayer, but that´s okej..."


Comments

Comment the post here:

Namn:
Remember me?

E-mail: (no publish)

URL/Blogadress:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0