A day in the parliament!

I was invited to the swedish parliament to have a speech for the politicians. The organization 5i12 (http://www.5i12.se) invited me to their yearly "get together" in the parliament. Since 2003,5i12 hosts a manifestation in the Swedish Parliament on December 5. Then all the parliamentary parties get together in a common expression of opinion against racism and xenophobia.

It was a nervous morning. I had prepared my speech for weeks, thinking, discussing about what the heeell I was gonna talk about. I went back and forward in my mind and then it hit me; "I´m gonna talk about personal responsibility".

When I came to the parliament a wonderful man named Anders met me up (he´s from 5i12). He introduced me to some of the politicians and showed me the program for the day. I was in the center of attention, people came to see and hear Me speak. That made me even more nervous, nervous but excited. I couldn´t believe that I was standing in the parliament.. 3 months ago I was staning at Sergels torg, and now here I was, in the parliament.


A choir sang and welcomed us.

I was very welcomed by the people, people came up to me and knew who I was. They congratulated me and I was feeling more and more calm. A man and politician named Jasenko Omanovic introduced me and he held a very touching speech; "If you asked me 1 year ago, when you hear the name Felicia, what and who do you think of? I could only think about Cornelius song about Felicia. I didn´t know anyone else to conect that name with. But now, when I hear the name Felicia, I think about an amazing, beautiful young woman, with her currage gathered 10 000 people at Sergels torg for a demonstration against racism and xenophobia. She gave the name Felicia a meaning for me. And here she is!!"





I started with to introduce myself and thanked them for having me here. I talked about WHY I took action and also why I used facebook. I told them that I just couldn´t sit there and jump on the train and just sit on facebook and complain and complain so I took action and did something that was so much bigger than Me, I saw through all this and saw something above what it Was. It was the right time, the right moment to do Something.
I also talked about my background, my mom being swedish and my dad´s from Romania. How I grew up as a litte girl that very early had to stand on my own feet. I knew early in my life what was right and wrong for Me as a person. I could make my own desicions and I had empathy and understanding for other people. "I´ve had so many interviews from all over the world and I´ve been so disappointed when people are asking me; But HOW?! HOW could You do something like this?! - Like it´s such a chocking thing. It was obvious for me to do something because I felt a peronsal responsibility, for me as a person and what I stand for,for other people, people whom I saw at that time on facebook, ALOT of other people that actually shared the same feelings as I did. And responsibility for our society. Everyone has their own way, I´m natural, im not in any party. I see MYSELF as my OWN party. I can as an individual make a change. I´m a living proof."

" I think You have to start have more focus on the young people. Learn them about personal responsibility. But first, look at yourself and YOU are the one to show and learn your kids. Sweden is a cowardly society. You grow up to NOT stand out, in school, I was kicked out once for speaking my mind and telling a girl to be quiet and then when I made my voice clear and loud I was the one to be thrown out, not her.. There are alot of people, who are sneaking around with their thoughts and views. I have one thing to say, OUT with it. Talk, discuss. Talk with your children, friends, family, strangers, colleauges! Just TALK more. Share your knowledge, get knowledge. Get more perspective. I think it´s from THAT moment, when you have other perspectives and other peoples fact, That´s when you can make your own statement and start doing something. Cuz then you will have knowledge, fact and understanding about other peoples statements. That´s when you can start discussing with people, consiously and wisely!"


After my speech I was getting a reward from the 5i12 organization. "This initiative is in 5i12 movement's spirit, and features a personal standpoint, drive and courage. Felicia's efforts also show that through a combination of social media and traditional manifestations can make big and important meeting which is impacting on public opinion."


And I guess many of you might wonder.. "Were the SD there?!"... Yes they were! They were actually standing there and filming me during my speech. I did not know for the moment that they were from the SD so after my speech and just in time for lunch I said hello to them and I noticed how they were staring at me. Did not say anything to me. Grown up men, just sitting there and stare at me. Hmmm.. too bad that they didn´t came up to me and introduced themselves and talked to me, cuz they seemed pretty intrested in what I had to say with their videotaping :)

After the lunch I had the pleasure to get a, I would say VIP guidetoor around the parliament with Jasenko!

beautiful view of Stockholm!!
The chamber is the heart of the Parliament.
It´s here the that the 349 members of the parliament are debating and taking decisions. A number of decisions taken each year related to your everyday life.
The castle like staircase where the main entrance. Today, the most on ceremonial occasions, as at each opening. The vocals and musicians are welcoming the kind and queen and other guests will pass on to their way to Parliament House on big occasions.
The same Grand Gallery is the Grand ballroom. - Perfect place to have a big salsa party or what! :)


It was pretty cool to walk around, we went through underground tunnels to come to another part of the parliament, and he showed me all of the big rooms in the parliament. he also showed me their own travel agency, sauna and swimarea!! "But I can´t even remember when I was here the last time, we´re too busy to go here to relax.."

If you wanna see more from the parliament check this out;
http://rundvandring.riksdagen.se/sv/ - it´s in swedish though but they will give you a tour around the buildings, pretty awesome :)

I got so beautiful flowers!

Comments
Posted by: Alex Sgondea

Maybe they didn't appreciate you wearing jeans at the Parliament...

Or they didn't know what "cuz" means...

2010-12-12 @ 15:36:19
Posted by: Tove

Du är så grym Felicia! Inspiration!

Tycker att du är så himla stark och fin! Är glad över att ha träffat dig och se att du verkar vara lika stark irl också.

Och till ovanstående kommentar, jeans funkar överallt! Fo shizzle! ;)

2010-12-21 @ 11:18:02
URL: http://tovelicious.se

Comment the post here:

Namn:
Remember me?

E-mail: (no publish)

URL/Blogadress:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0